Midland Crime Stoppers present annual awards

Midland Crime Stoppers held their 38th Annual Awards Banquet on January 27 at the Midland Country Club. The event, held each January during Crime Stoppers Month, honors and recognizes local law enforcement.

In attendance were representatives from various law enforcement agencies, the Midland Police Department, the Midland County Sheriff’s Office, U.S. Marshals, the Midland Fire Department, the Midland Police Department ISD and the Public Security Department. Also in attendance were Sheriff Gary Painter’s family, the Midland City Council and several judges.

The keynote speaker was Mayor Patrick Payton.

“Officer of the Year” and Cobos awards were presented. The first Sheriff Gary Painter Award was also presented. The council created the award “to honor a man who has dedicated himself to law enforcement and partnered with various organizations for the betterment of the community,” according to Midland Crime Stoppers. The award will be given to an organization, corporation or government agency that helps further the goals of Crime Stoppers or Law Enforcement.

Officer of the Year Award:

Detective Tyler Thompson – Midland Police Department

Cid Sgt. John Henry – Midland County Sheriff’s Office

Corporal Jeff Robinson – Department of Public Safety

Deputy U.S. Marshal Jeremy Waechter, Deputy U.S. Marshal Michael Sykes and the USMS Task Force

Officer Chet Thatcher – U.S. Marshal Service

Deputy Chief Michael Cota – Midland Fire Department

Officer David Lopez – Midland ISD Police Department

Cobos Award Recipient (the David Cobos Award is given to individuals who help further the goals of Crime Stoppers and demonstrate a commitment to community betterment): Detective Rosie Rodriguez – Midland Police Department

Sheriff Gary Painter Award Recipient: Citizens Police Academy Alumni Association and Citizens on Patrol

Mark M. Gagnon